University of Namur

Founded in 1831 by the Society of Jesus, the University of Namur (UNamur) carries on the values of the humanistic tradition through teaching and research: universality, quality, ethical commitment and solidarity. Its priority is to educate students and researchers as responsible and active members of society.

Situated in the Southern, French-speaking part of Belgium, at the heart of Europe, the University of Namur comprises six Faculties, offering some forty academic programmes.
It welcomes about 5000 students and carries out research covering the main fields of knowledge, ranging from ethics to nanotechnologies, from linguistics to computer science, from human rights to veterinary science, and so on.

The quality of its teaching and research has enabled the UNamur to develop cooperation and exchange programmes, benefiting students, researchers and professors alike. This trend is being reinforced with the UNamur’s active involvement in the “Académie Louvain”.

This site provides you with general information about the University of Namur, its main features, its values and organisation, its research and its teaching.
While some of our registration forms and other administrative documents are available in English, it should be noted that Namur University is in principle a French-speaking institution. French is the main language for administrative purposes, as well as the language of tuition in the majority of programmes.