FH Aachen

At the Aachen University of Applied Sciences, great emphasis is placed on practical application of expertise, both in teaching and research. Close working relationships with regional and international companies, renowned research institutes such as the Research Centre Jülich along with many other universities all over the world guarantee students an education which will stand them in good stead to meet the rising demands of the job market.

The Aachen University of Applied Sciences, together with its branch campus in Jülich, is one of the largest Universities of its kind in Germany, with a current total of around 11.000 students, 220 Professors, over 180 teachers and 600 general employees. Along with a wide choice of science and engineering degree programs, diverse courses such as those in Design and Economics are also part of the range of courses on offer. The University was founded in 1971, but some of its previous academic institutes proudly look back over a century of tradition.

By engaging in lively communication with business and political institutions and drawing on practical experience from industry, the University is able to continue to develop new study programs which are oriented towards and applicable to current trends in the job market.

In Bologna in 1999, together with its European neighbours, Germany set itself the goal to achieve a unified European university system before 2010. The main aim of the so-called Bologna Process, the most revolutionary reform of the university system over the last decades, is firstly to develop a system with easily recognisable and comparable degree qualifications, by introducing the Diploma Supplements as well as Bachelor and Master degree programs and the credit system known as the „European Credit Transfer System” (ECTS). The Aachen University of Applied Sciences counts among the first in Germany to change its Diplom degree programs over to the Bachelor and Master degree programs.

The University is situated in an attractive location in the border triangle with Belgium and the Netherlands.  It enjoys international relations with partner universities in all five continents.  Some of the many collaborations with renowned universities are listed below: Technical University Eindhoven (Netherlands), Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse (France), Coventry University (Great Britain), Università degli Studi di Firenze (Italy), Politecnico di Milano (Italy), Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Spain), Mid Sweden University (Sweden), San Francisco State University (USA), Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (Australia), Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria (Chile), Indian Institute of Technology (India), Tianjin University (China), Universiti Putra Malaysia (Malaysia).