Brunel University

Brunel University is a world-class university based in Uxbridge, West London. Now over 40 years old, our mission has always been to combine academic rigour with the practical, entrepreneurial and imaginative approach pioneered by our namesake Isambard Kingdom Brunel.

The University exists by virtue of a Royal Charter first granted in 1966. Its governing body is called the Council and comprises a mix of independent members and staff and students of the University. The University is an exempt charity as defined by the Charities Act 2011.

The Council appoints the Vice-Chancellor and other senior officers. Its powers, duties and functions are set out in full in the Statutes . Council has established a range of Committees to carry out its work.

The academic governing body of the University is the Senate, which is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. Senate's powers, duties and functions are set out in the Statutes, and it has established a number of Committees to assist it in its work.