Bifröst University

 Bifröst University was founded in Reykjavík in 1918 on the model of Ruskin College, Oxford, under the name Samvinnuskólinn or the Cooperative College. Its role then, as now, was to educate leaders for business and society.

The school was moved to Bifröst in Borgarfjörður in 1955.
Bifröst has been an accredited university since 1988. Originally a business school, Bifröst began to offer degrees in law in 2002 and in social science in 2005. Reflecting these changes, its name was changed to Bifröst University in 2006.
Bifröst is a private, self-governing, non-profit institution, which receives around 40% of its income from the Icelandic state, 40% from tuition fees and 20% from other sources.
The Bifröst campus is 110 km from the centre of Reykjavík, roughly 90 minutes' driving distance from the capital.
The departments at Bifröst University are:
Department of Business
Department of Law
Department of Social Sciences
Bifröst offers the following bachelor's and master's degrees:
BA in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)
BS in Business Administration
BS in Business Law
ML in Law
MS in International Business
MA in Cultural Management
MA in Cultural Studies
The University also offers a one-year preparatory study programme for students lacking full university entrance qualifications, as well as various life-long learning programs.

Around 45% of undergraduate students at Bifröst spend one or more terms abroad at partner universities in America, Asia and continental Europe.
Alumni from Bifröst include many entrepreneurs and leaders in Icelandic business and politics.