Aix-Marseille University (AMU)

The University is headquartered at the Pharo, Marseille.
AMU has produced many notable alumni in the fields of law, politics, business, economics and literature. To date, there have been 4 Nobel Laureates amongst its alumni and faculty, as well as several heads of state, parliamentary speakers, government ministers, ambassadors and members of the French Academy. In the 2012 Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) the University was ranked 101-150th in the world, making it the 4th highest ranked university in France.
Aix-Marseille University is organized into five sectors:
Law and Political Science
  • Faculty of Law and Political Science
  • Institute of Public Management and Territorial Governance
Economics and Management
  • Faculty of Economics and Management
  • Journalism and Communication School of Marseille
  • Institute of Business Administration of Aix-en-Provence
  • Regional Institute of Labour
Arts, Literature, Languages and Human Sciences 

  • Faculty of Arts, Literature, Languages and Human Sciences
  • Training Centre for Musicians
  • The Mediterranean House of Human Sciences

  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Odontology
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Midwives' University School Marseille Méditerranée
Sciences and Technology

  • Faculty of Sciences
  • Faculty of Sports
  • Observatory of Universe Sciences – Pytheas Institute
  • Polytech Marseille
In addition, three University Institutes of Technology and University Institute for Teachers Training are part of the University.